Can’t stop the bake-alanche

29 Jun

I did do more of the baking. It really is like a disease. Today…

Pumpkin cupcakes, recipe again courtesy of those Moskowitz/Romero gals. Sadly they don’t have them on their site; it’s not massively different to the chocolate ones, but is umm pumpkin. Tinned pumpkin is one of the reasons I would quite like a Star Trek style transporter. Yeah we can get them over here, when Waitrose deigns to stock them, or if you fancy the hell of Selfridges, but I’d quite like them all the year round thanks. In a *cough* more economically priced supermarket.

 

The original recipe calls for chocolate chips, but I skipped those since I was going to put on the icing left over from yesterday. These are not, I’ll be frank, pretty looking. They look sort of like lumps of beige cement when they come out of the oven.

However, they do taste really nice, if a little dense. So I don’t know if I didn’t add enough baking powder/soda, or it needs some vinegar. Or since they taste very nice I just accept that they are short.

Next: bread. Recipe from the beloved. Who is a bread kind of boy. As in I mean he makes it a lot, not that he resembles it. He does it well. I do not. It looks kinda cool doesn’t it? Like one of those French ones. It is in fact as heavy as an actual French baker. However, it is edible. Well if you discount the bottom. I will be seeking remedial baking classes from the boy.

Finally cookies. Using this recipe. With a couple of amendments. I made half the amount, because well a loaf of bread and twelve cakes is quite enough for any house. I skipped the chocolate chips because I’m lazy and couldn’t be bothered to break up the chocolate bars. I have found that dark chocolate chips have milk in unless you pay a fortune, whereas 85% chocolate does not and is cheaper than lesser percent chocolate because no one who shops in Tesco, apart from my mum, actually eats it. I also swapped the peanut butter for almond because I don’t have peanut at home any more. Not since the clagging my mouth so much that I thought I was going to die incident. They’re again not the prettiest things on the planet.

Once again though. They’re really nice. Which is just as well, because they look bloody awful. They are squidgy and a bit fudgey and I absolutely recommend them. I also recommend you keep your eyes closed when eating them.

One Response to “Can’t stop the bake-alanche”

  1. Averie @ Averie Cooks June 29, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

    thanks for trying & linking up my recipe!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 240 other followers

